Home> Resource> Phone/Data Clean> Reset All Settings vs. Erase All Content [Comprehensive Comparison]

Reset All Settings vs. Erase All Content [Comprehensive Comparison]

2022-08-01 17:02:02/Posted by Alleny Gavinto Phone/Data Clean Topic/Follow @ MobiKin

"When giving a second-hand iPad to someone else, what's the difference between Reset All Settings and Erase All Settings? Which's the best choice when purchasing a used iPad?" -- from Apple Support Community

 

Getting into your iDevice's "Settings" app, you'll find two built-in reset options: Reset All Settings & Erase All Content and Settings. Assuming you're just about to erase an iPhone/iPad to sell or trade it in, you want your phone's privacy to get well preserved. So, which option does a good job of doing this?

OK, Reset All Settings vs. Erase All Content and Settings is today's topic we are going about discussing. They work differently when it comes to resetting your device. And we shall parse them in more depth now.

reset all settings vs erase all content

Part 1: Difference Between Reset and Erase All Content and Settings

Reset All Settings:

  • Restore iDevice Settings to factory settings, including Wi-Fi password, ringtones, notifications, brightness, font, wallpaper, etc.
  • It won't erase any content on your iOS device.
  • It doesn't affect the state of a jailbroken phone.
  • It can do all that "Reset Network Settings" does.

Erase All Content and Settings:

  • Wipe out everything on the iDevice.
  • Restore your iOS device to factory settings.
  • A jailbreak might get broken at most and erased at best.

See More:

Part 2: Reset All Settings vs. Erase All Content: Which One You Should Choose

Reset All Settings:

  • Your iPhone is sluggish.
  • Your device gets stuck on the backup screen.
  • There are some iOS issues caused by system glitches.
  • You want to make some changes on your device when encountering phone-to-phone transfer stuck.

Erase All Content and Settings:

  • When you intend to resell, give away, or even trade in your iDevice.
  • Restore iPhone from the previous backup.
  • Free up space on iPhone/iPad, as it is running out of storage.
  • Just want to get rid of all personal data.

Do not select "Erase All Content and Settings" unless you're to wipe out data on your iPhone. And please back up your iPhone/iPad before getting any further.

 

Part 3: How to Reset All Settings and Erase All Content and Settings?

Since there are obvious differences between the two, how can we put them into practice? Well, it's fairly simple, and all this can start from iPhone's "Settings".

How to Reset All Settings on iPhone/iPad?

  • Unlock your iPhone, and go to its "Settings" > "General" > "Reset".
  • Enter your iPhone/iPad passcode when prompted. (How to unlock your iPhone passcode if you forgot it?)
  • Select "Reset All Settings", followed by "Reset".

how to reset all settings on iphone or ipad

How to Erase All Content and Settings on iDevice?

  • Navigate to your iPhone "Settings" > "General" > "Reset".
  • Tap "Erase All Content and Settings".
  • how to erase all content and settings on idevice

  • Opt for "Erase Now" when a notification appears.
  • Once done, you can set your iPhone as new with prompts on the screen.

Extended Reading:

Part 4: Cons of Reset All Settings and Erase All Content

After going through iPhone's "Reset All Settings vs. Erase All Content and Settings", we'll get a basic understanding of the features. It's important to weigh the potential benefits brought by both and against the possible risks. OK, although the two options can get your phone to its best state, they also possess some defects.

Disadvantages of Reset All Settings & Reset All Settings and Erase All Content:

  • All the deleted settings and content are recoverable.
  • You may get more prompts when installing some apps.
  • You might lose some content forever, for even recovery software can't find things that have been deleted.
  • Some of the phone's previously saved info, like passwords, need to be re-entered.

Part 5: How to Erase an iPhone Completely

Neither Reset All Settings nor Erase All Content guarantees that erased content or settings in the device are totally secure. In other words, some common recovery programs can easily access and recover the items so that your personal data can be made public. That's terrible. Fortunately, you get to know MobiKin Eraser for iOS, a product that allows you to choose different erasure levels so that you can easily delete everything on your iDevice without leaving any traces.

MobiKin Eraser for iOS - erasing all iOS data completely:

  • With just one click, you can erase an iPhone permanently, leaving no opportunity to restore it.
  • Three different erasing levels: Low Level, Medium Level, and High Level.
  • Clear private data and settings to better protect your privacy.
  • Work well with a whole range of iOS devices, including iPhone 13/13 Pro (Max)/13 mini/12/12 Pro (Max)/12 mini, iPhone 11/11 Pro/11 Pro Max, iPhone X/XR/Xs/Xs Max, iPhone 8/8 Plus, iPhone 7/7 Plus, iPhone 6/6S/6 Plus, iPod touch, iPad, etc.
  • It won't let out your privacy.

ios eraser for win ios eraser for mac

How to wipe out an iPhone via MobiKin Eraser for iOS?

Step 1. Launch Eraser for iOS on a computer

Get the program on a computer before installing and launching it. Then connect your iPhone to the computer via a Lightning USB cable. And the software will soon detect your device.

run eraser for ios on computer

Step 2. Choose "Select Security Level"

After the recognition, choose the "Erase" button on the screen. Next, check the on-screen prompt and enter the "Select Security Level" window.

select security level

Step 3. Erase all iOS content and settings permanently

Select the security level as "Medium Level". You'll then be required to input "Delete" in the box and tap "Erase" again to wipe your iPhone off with one click.

erase all ios content and settings with eraser for ios

Ending Words

The background knowledge about the two terms we just talked about aims to help you make a reasonable choice when making some changes to the settings or content on your iPhone/iPad. But if you intend to pass it to its next owner, erasing your iOS device with MobiKin Eraser for iOS, apparently, is the best way to go. Any questions on use? Please contact us by leaving a message in the comments.

ios eraser for win ios eraser for mac

Related Articles:

Does Factory Reset Delete Everything on iPhone? What Happens If I Do It?

4 Brilliant Techniques to Delete Contacts on Android Phone

4 Solutions to Erase All Content and Settings from iPhone

[Up to Date] How to Wipe Android Phone Completely before Selling?

[Full Guide] How to Erase iPhone without Password Permanently?

Simple Ways to Clean Junk Files on iPhone 13/12/11/Xs/Xs Max/XR

Feedback

FeedbackHelp us make our website better for you

Please select your question type and we'll guide you to the right service team.